How to remove Facebook friends: 9 steps

Table of contents:

How to remove Facebook friends: 9 steps
How to remove Facebook friends: 9 steps
Anonim

In this article, we will tell you how to remove a person from your Facebook friends list. If you remove a person from your friends list, you will no longer see their posts in your feed, and they will not be able to read yours. You can delete a person both in the Facebook mobile app and on the website. In order not to remove a person from friends, but to stop seeing his posts, just unsubscribe from this user.

Steps

Method 1 of 2: On a mobile device

Unfriend on Facebook Step 1
Unfriend on Facebook Step 1

Step 1. Launch the Facebook app

Click the white "f" icon on a blue background. If you are already signed in to Facebook on your mobile device, your news feed will open on the screen.

If you are not yet logged into Facebook, enter your email address (or phone number) and password

Unfriend on Facebook Step 2
Unfriend on Facebook Step 2

Step 2. Go to your friend's profile page

Enter your friend's name in the search bar at the top of the screen, and then click on the name when it appears in the drop-down menu.

Unfriend on Facebook Step 3
Unfriend on Facebook Step 3

Step 3. Tap the Friends icon

This icon looks like a silhouette with a checkmark and is located at the bottom and left of your profile picture. A pop-up menu will open.

Unfriend on Facebook Step 4
Unfriend on Facebook Step 4

Step 4. Tap Remove Friend

It's near the top of the pop-up menu.

Unfriend on Facebook Step 5
Unfriend on Facebook Step 5

Step 5. Click OK when prompted

The user will be removed from your friends list.

Method 2 of 2: On the computer

Unfriend on Facebook Step 6
Unfriend on Facebook Step 6

Step 1. Open the Facebook site

Go to https://www.facebook.com in a web browser. If you are already logged into Facebook, your news feed will open.

If you are not yet logged into Facebook, enter your email address (or phone number) and password

Unfriend on Facebook Step 7
Unfriend on Facebook Step 7

Step 2. Go to your friend's profile page

Enter your friend's name in the search bar at the top of the news feed, and then click on your friend's profile picture.

Unfriend on Facebook Step 8
Unfriend on Facebook Step 8

Step 3. Press the ✓ Friends button

It's in the top right corner of your profile cover, which is located at the top of the page. A dropdown menu will open.

Unfriend on Facebook Step 9
Unfriend on Facebook Step 9

Step 4. Click Remove from Friends

You will find this option at the bottom of the menu. The user will be removed from your friends list.

Advice

  • If the person you removed from your friends does not use a third-party browser extension, they will NOT be notified of your actions. Remember, deleted friends can still see your comments on content posted by mutual friends. You can also view their comments.
  • If you want to prevent a person from seeing your profile and messages on the pages of mutual friends, block him.

Warnings

  • After you have removed a person from friends, there is no time period during which you can add a person as friends again.
  • If you've removed a person as a friend, the only way to befriend them again is to send them a friend request.

Popular by topic